How to solve "Cannot perform library search" error message

Ask or learn about how to use the software or troubleshoot problems
Post Reply
dhutchin
Posts: 2
Joined: July 27th, 2012, 1:04 pm

How to solve "Cannot perform library search" error message

Post by dhutchin » October 11th, 2012, 10:32 am

Error message: "Cannot perform library search due to IO errors!
(Library search program failed with unexpected error)"

The error indicates that NIST library is not configured correctly
inside the GC Image software. You can configure the NIST library by:

Choose menu: Configure > Settings > Search Library
-> Click on "Auto Locate NIST Library" button

If the software does not find the correct NIST installation, you can
click on "Browse for NIST Library" button and then select the NIST's
MSSEARCH folder manually.

Note that the NIST library coming with the GC Image software is a demo
version. If you don't have the full version of NIST library, you need
to buy it separately.

qtao
Posts: 154
Joined: October 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

Re: How to solve "Cannot perform library search" error

Post by qtao » October 23rd, 2013, 2:58 pm

For R2.4, you may encounter the same error message with an error number like "-1073741515". This error occurs because your computer is running an older Windows such as XP that has not been updated for a while. A quick fix is to Download and install the following:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... en&id=5555

Also, it is recommended to keep your Windows updated since the future versions may depend on the latest Windows updates.

qtao
Posts: 154
Joined: October 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

Re: How to solve "Cannot perform library search" error messa

Post by qtao » February 27th, 2014, 1:09 pm

If library search failed with unexpected error: -10, which indicates some library cannot be open,

you will need to check Configure > Library Search > Included Libraries settings to be sure all included libraries listed are installed, or simply click on Auto Locate NIST Library button.

qtao
Posts: 154
Joined: October 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

Re: How to solve "Cannot perform library search" error messa

Post by qtao » March 19th, 2016, 11:00 am

If the above steps do not work, a fresh installation may be needed:

Restart the computer
> Uninstall GC Image
> Manually delete the GC Image installation folder, for example, "C:\GC Image\GC Image 2.5b5.1 GCxGC (64-bit)\"

> Start NIST14 MS Search Program
> Go to Menu: Options > Library Search Options
> Switch to Libraries Tab
> Check if all included libraries exist under "C:\NIST14\MSSEARCH" folder
> Check if any other folder exist under "C:\NIST14\MSSEARCH" folder, but not listed
> If everything is OK, OK and exit the program

> Download and reinstall GC Image from http://www.gcimage.com/gcxgc/downloads.html
> Start GC Image
> Choose the default initialization option (do not migrate from another previous installation)
> File > Open > Open exampleMS.gci
> View a spectrum
> Library Search in MS Viewer should work

If the problem persists, please contact us.

Post Reply